Declare MPTC, ZPTC Unanimous Winners: HC directs SEC

By Nehru.T Mar. 16, 2021, 04:08 pm IST
Declare MPTC, ZPTC Unanimous Winners: HC directs SEC

The State Election Commission (SEC) Nimmagadda Ramesh Kumar has once again faced a bitter experience in the AP High Court regarding the unanimous elections of the MPTC and ZPTC winners. On Tuesday High Court directed the SEC to declare immediately the MPTC and ZPTC winners who were unanimously elected to this extent. In a hearing held last week the SEC Nimmagadda Ramesh told the High Court that they had the power to postpone, cancel, and reschedule elections in line with the Central Election Commission. He said the SEC has the power to intervene impartially in case of irregularities in the election process. He said that the 126 ZPTCs and 2,406 unanimous results were extraordinary compared to the previous year. In Tuesday's hearing over the petition filed against the MPTC and ZPTC election unanimous elections, the High Court struck down the SEC orders and directed him to formally declare the results.

As per the High Court orders, the SEC officially announced the 126 ZPTC and 2,406 MPTC winners. As of now, 526 ZPTC seats and 7,287 MPTC seats will go to polls. The withdrawal of nominations ended at 3 PM on Saturday. The SEC announced the unanimous winners and the places where the polls have to be conducted on Sunday.

Actually the SEC is reluctant for unanimous elections and frequently he states that the unanimous is against the democratic procedure and every voter should participate in election but huge number of MPTC and ZPTCs are elected without poling.

Click Here and join us to get our latest updates through WhatsApp